Mr Lloyd Smith, Group Chief Executive of Gerard Daniels, and Ms Kerry Sanderson AO and former Western Australian Agent
General to the UK, invite you to a Winter Cocktail Evening to hear more about promoting British/Australian relations at a high level
and the exciting progress in establishing the newly formed Cook Society* Branch in Western Australia. It is also an opportunity to
meet the newly established committee.


In the name of further developing relations with the UK you will hear from Science Ambassador and former Chief Scientist Professor Lyn Beazley AO who will discuss exciting science in WA and its links with UK science programs.


Professor Beazley was Chief Scientist from 2006 to 2013. She undertook her undergraduate studies at Oxford University and her doctorate at Edinburgh University. Over a 30/year research career she built up an internationally renowned research team that focused on recovery from brain damage. Professor Beazley was awarded an Order of Australia in 2009 for service to medical science and her contribution to the development of science policy in Western Australia. She has regularly visited the UK as part of her role.


Variety WA, the children’s charity, is the selected charity for this event. Varity WA will be providing an update on their activities, recent achievements and how you can be involved.


RSVP: Please email Tony Goodman at the WA Cook Society on to register for this event.
Dress: Business
For more information about Western Australian Cook Society visit


*Founded in 1969 by Sir Alec Douglas / Home and Sir Robert Menzies to promote Britain / Australia relations at a high level. The Cook Socie ty in Great Britain is an exclusive, invitation only, society of 100 members. They represent a wide range of national interests, include high/ranking business and professional peo ple, academia and representatives of government. The Cook Society has been established in most States of Australia f or many years and, in 2014, WA’s branch was reactiv ated with growth in membership and a dedicated committee.